Breakfast at Tiffany’s

img_01391.jpgOne of my all time favorite movies – along with probably every other girl in America – is Breakfast at Tiffany’s.  Whenever I get a case of the “mean reds” or if I am just missing New York too much, Breakfast at Tiffany’s  is always my go-to movie.  It’s absolutely impossible not to love Audrey Hepburn – or her Givenchy wardrobe!!  So, on my very first trip to New York, one of my first stalking stops was the Tiffany flagship store located on Fifth Avenue.  Tiffany’s was used twice during filming – in the opening scene when Holly is window-shopping in a black cocktail dress and pearls while eating a danish, and in a later scene, when Holly and Paul inquire about a sterling silver telephone dialer. 

The Fifth Avenue Tiffany’s is amazing in person – easily the largest Tiffany store I have ever been in, with six different floors to shop on!  During the wintertime, even the doormen’s scarves are Tiffany blue!  If you are obsessed with Breakfast at Tiffany’s, like me – or even if you are just fond of the jewelry, you might enjoy the book Summer at Tiffany, the true story of two girls who worked at Tiffany’s during WWII.  I highly recommend it! 

img_0301.jpgAfter stalking Tiffany’s, I just had to stalk Holly Golightly’s brownstone apartment, which I found in my favorite New York stalking book.  Her apartment looks almost exactly as it did in 1961 when Breakfast at Tiffany’s was filmed.  I only wish I could have peeked inside to see the mailbox where Holly stored her lipstick!  🙂

Stalk It:  Holly Golightly’s brownstone is located on the Upper East Side at 171 East 71st Street.  Tiffany & Co. jewelers – the place where “nothing bad can ever happen to you” is located at 727 Fifth Avenue.  This particular Tiffany store has been used in the filming of countless movies, including Sleepless in Seattle, Sweet Home Alabama, and Midnight Cowboy.  It was also the location where Trey “proposed” to Charlotte on Sex and the City.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Breakfast at Tiffany’s

  1. Emelie

    Thank you so much for this entry! I plan on going there someday!
    Xx

Leave a Reply

